Swiss Society for the Middle East and Islamic Cultures SSMEIC/SGMOIK

The Swiss Society for the Middle East and Islamic Cultures aims to contribute towards promoting understanding of the cultures and societies of western Asia and North Africa in Switzerland by promoting dialogue with Middle Eastern and Islamic societies and academic, publishing and artistic work. In recent years, the society has increasingly been interested in migration issues and Muslim religious practices in Swiss society. An important aspect of our work is also an interest in economic and political global networking, which connects and alters societies in Europe and regions bordering Europe to the southeast in different ways. The societies plays an important role in mediating between academic research, the media, politics and interested members of the public.

The Swiss Society for the Middle East and Islamic Cultures has existed since 1990 and currently has c. 200 members. It sees itself as a forum for people in Switzerland whose careers relate in any way to the region of Western Asia/North Africa and issues pertaining to Islamic culture[s]. It is also open to all individuals with an interest in the subject. Members of the society work at schools and universities, in editorial offices, publishing houses, museums, in public administration, for NGOs, foundations, international institutions and in private business, for example.

The society is neither ideologically nor politically aligned with a specific view and does not serve as an instrument for disseminating particular convictions or ideologies.

The society organises international colloquiums every other year, and a smaller academic conference in the alternate years. It invites cultural and media representatives as well as academics from the region of Western Asia and Northern Africa to Switzerland or supports such events. It organises exhibitions, readings, lecture series, discussions, film screenings and seminars in different Swiss cities. From the outset, the society has had an interdisciplinary approach, which takes voices from the Arab and Islamic world seriously and wants to understand them in context.

In collaboration with the Swiss Asia Society, the Swiss Society for the Middle East and Islamic Cultures organises a conference for junior researchers in Asian studies every three years. At this conference, junior researchers from all subjects related to Asia at Swiss universities present and discuss their work.

Finally, the society publishes a bulletin with a focus topic every six months. Generally, the bulletin alternates between focusing on a country and focusing on a subject area. Members receive the bulletin by post. Bulletins in paper form can be ordered or subscribed to and are available as PDF files on the society’s website

Download the membership application form here.

Société Suisse Moyen Orient et Civilisation Islamique SSMOCI/SGMOIK

La SSMOCI souhaite contribuer à la promotion en Suisse de la compréhension pour les cultures et les sociétés d’Asie occidentale et d’Afrique du Nord en entretenant le dialogue avec les sociétés moyen-orientales et à dominante islamique et en soutenant la création scientifique, journalistique et artistique. Ces dernières années, elle s’est également intéressée de manière accrue aux questions de migration et aux pratiques religieuses musulmanes dans la société suisse. Un aspect important de notre travail est en outre l’intérêt porté au maillage économique et politique mondial qui relie de différentes manières les sociétés européennes aux régions bordant l'Union européenne au Sud-Est.  La médiation entre la recherche, les médias, la politique et le public intéressé est notre préoccupation. 

La Société Suisse Moyen Orient et Civilisation Islamique (SSMOCI) existe depuis 1990 et compte actuellement 200 membres. Elle se veut être un forum pour toutes les personnes traitant professionnellement de quelque façon que ce soit de la région d’Asie Occidentale/Afrique du Nord et des questions posées par la/les culture(s) islamiques en Suisse. Elle reste de plus ouverte à toute personne intéressée par le sujet. Les membres de la SSMOCI travaillent p. ex. dans des écoles et des universités, dans des rédactions, maisons d’édition, musées, dans l’administration publique, dans des ONG, des fondations, des institutions internationales et dans l’économie privée.

La Société n’adopte aucune position politique ou idéologique et ne sert pas d'instrument de propagation de certaines convictions ou idéologies.

La SSMOCI organise tous les deux ans des colloques scientifiques internationaux. Les années sans colloque voient l’organisation d’une petite rencontre scientifique. Elle invite les médias et les créateurs culturels ainsi que les scientifiques de la région d’Asie Occidentale/Afrique du Nord en Suisse ou soutient des événements similaires. Elle organise des expositions, lectures, séries de conférences, tables rondes, projections de films et séminaires dans différentes villes suisses. Depuis ses débuts, la SSMOCI représente une approche interdisciplinaire qui accorde du crédit aux voix du monde arabe et islamique et cherche à les comprendre dans leur contexte.

Tous les trois ans, la SSMOCI organise avec la Société Suisse-Asie le colloque auquel les doctorant(e)s et post-docs de toutes les branches liées à l’Asie des universités suisses présentent et discutent de leurs travaux.

Tous les six mois paraît ensuite le bulletin, toujours autour d’un thème clé, en général par alternance une brochure pays et une brochure thématique. Les membres reçoivent le bulletin après la date de parution par courrier. Les bulletins peuvent être commandés sous forme papier auprès de la SSMOCI qui enregistre aussi les abonnements, et sont disponibles sous forme de fichiers PDF sur le site Internet.

Téléchargez le formulaire d'adhesion ici.