Social and Cultural Anthropology

Social and cultural anthropology is the study of people and their behaviour in social and societal contexts. Social and cultural anthropology studies societies and social groups in terms of dynamics, changes, diversity and similarities with regard to all matters of social and cultural life, both material and symbolic. It deals with different subjects such as gender, family, health, law, politics, religion, economy, the environment, mobility, urban and rural development, etc.

With the qualitative research approach of ethnography, which involves participant observation and a holistic perspective, the discipline focuses on informal, social everyday relationships and long-term research for its analyses. Based on local populations, social and cultural anthropologists research social relationships within regional, national and global networks. With its comparative approach, social and cultural anthropology questions ethnocentric views where other lifestyles and people are described and evaluated solely from one's own perspective. It promotes discussion about sociocultural diversity.

LEARN MORE

Social and Cultural Anthropology as Major or Minor

Most universities have institutes that offer social and cultural anthropology as a separate subject at BA/MA/PhD as a major and a minor subject.

Social and cultural anthropology within interdisciplinary study programmes

At several universities, there are one or more chairs for the subject within interdisciplinary institutes.

Social and cultural anthropology summer schools and workshops in Switzerland

Various subject chairs, institutes and institutions also offer joint events such as summer schools on specific anthropological topics:

PhD in Social and Cultural Anthropology in Switzerland

Education at PhD level occurs with Swiss-wide cooperation through the

Social and cultural anthropology at technical colleges

Social and cultural anthropology is also taught in modules within various study programmes at technical colleges in Switzerland though there are no independent study programmes on the subject. Anthropologists that teach and research at technical colleges deal among other things with the following subjects and areas: youth culture, winners and losers, Albania, social aspects of art, school social work, migration, offenders, addiction, integration, health, AIDS, death, chronic illness, discrimination, the concept of culture, intercultural activities, disability, public space, development work, tourism, sustainability, action anthropology and applied anthropology.

More information can be found on the individual study programmes at the technical colleges at:

Ethnologie

L’ethnologie, aussi appelée anthropologie sociale et culturelle, étudie les êtres humains,  et leurs activités en les replaçant dans leur contexte social et sociétal. Elle étudie les sociétés et groupement humains dans leurs dynamiques et leurs transformations, dans leurs diversités et leurs similitudes,  et aborde toutes les questions de la vie sociale et culturelle, aussi bien matérielle que symbolique. Elle traite des domaines aussi divers que le genre, la santé, le droit, le pouvoir politique, le religieux, l’économie, l’environnement, la mobilité, le développement de l’urbain comme du rural, etc.

Adoptant une démarche ethnographique qualitative, avec l’observation participante comme méthode centrale, et une perspective holistique (ou englobante), elle privilégie les analyses en profondeur, basées sur des rapports humains directs et de longue durée. A partir de terrains ancrés localement, les anthropologues étudient les relations sociales dans des réseaux traversant les échelles locales, nationales et internationales. Par la démarche comparative, l’anthropologie questionne les visions ethnocentristes qui jugent le monde et les autres uniquement à travers leurs propres références, et éclaire la diversité culturelle et sociale. 

 EN SAVOIR PLUS

Ethnologie en branche principale (BA et MA)

Plusieurs universités ont un institut d’ethnologie qui propose un cursus en ethnologie, en branche principale ou secondaire et offre des diplômes universitaires de tout niveau  (BA/MA/Doctorat).

Ethnologie dans le cadre d’une formation universitaire pluridisciplinaire

Quelques universités disposent d’une ou plusieurs chaires en ethnologie, intégrées à des filières pluridisciplinaires.

Ecole d’été et workshop en ethnologie

En outre, les chaires, instituts, institutions en ethnologie offrent aussi des activités communes comme des écoles d’été sur des thématiques ethnologiques specifiques:

Doctorat en ethnologie

La formation au niveau du doctarat (PhD) est organisée au niveau national:

Ethnologie aux hautes écoles spécialisées suisses

L’ethnologie est enseignée en modules dans divers cursus des hautes écoles spécialisées suisses également. Des cursus dédiés à l’ethnologie n’y sont pas proposés. Les ethnologues qui enseignent et effectuent des recherches dans les hautes écoles spécialisées traitent entre autres des thèmes et des domaines suivants: la culture jeune, les kings et les losers, l’Albanie, les aspects sociaux de l’art, le travail social en milieu scolaire, la migration, les délinquants, la toxicomanie, l’intégration, la santé, le sida, la mort, les maladies chroniques, la discrimination, la notion de culture, l’action interculturelle, le handicap, l’espace public, la coopération au développement, le tourisme, la durabilité, l’anthropologie active, l’ethnologie appliquée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations dans les différents cursus des hautes écoles spécialisées: