Swiss Society for Folklore Studies SSFS/SGV

The Swiss Society for Folklore Studies (SSFS) was founded in 1896 and is open to all interested parties. It aims to research and document Swiss everyday culture both in its historical and modern-day forms.

The SSFS publishes journals and books. It conducts its own research projects, produces films, and organises conferences and excursions. Its local branches in Zurich and Basel organise a semi-annual programme of presentations and excursions.

Historically, the SSFS was the privately organised precursor and pioneer of both European anthropology and cultural studies university institutes in Switzerland (Institute for Cultural Studies and European Anthropology at the University of Basel and the Institute of Social Anthropology and Cultural Studies – Popular Cultures at the University of Zurich. Today it functions as a national professional association for researchers in Folklore Studies.

Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Volkskunde SGV/SSTP

Die Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Volkskunde (SGV) ist eine 1896 gegründete, allen Interessierten offen stehende Vereinigung. Sie setzt sich zum Ziel, die schweizerische Alltagskultur in ihren historischen und aktuellen Erscheinungsformen zu erforschen und zu dokumentieren.

Die SGV publiziert Zeitschriften und Bücher. Sie führt eigene Forschungsprojekte durch, produziert Filme, organisiert Tagungen und veranstaltet Reisen. In ihren lokalen Sektionen Zürich und Basel organisiert sie ein halbjährliches Vortrags- und Exkursionsprogramm.

Historisch gesehen handelt es sich bei der SGV um die privat organisierte Vorläuferin und Wegbereiterin der beiden europäisch ethnologisch-kulturwissenschaftlichen Universitätsinstitute in der Schweiz (Seminar für Kulturwissenschaft und Europäische Ethnologie der Universität Basel und Institut für Sozialanthropologie und Empirische Kulturwissenschaft – Populäre Kulturen der Universität Zürich) und fungiert heute auch als nationaler Berufsverband für die VolkskundlerInnen.